Our Guide to Free Tasting Rooms

*NEW for 2019* – In order to make this list a little more comprehensive, I’ve decided to add links to some of the better tasting coupons and passports for each region.  I don’t earn any commissions for these links, so I’m free to weed out the sketchy ones and share only the deals I think are worthwhile.  Enjoy!

I only include wineries whose tasting policies I have personally verified.
There may be others out there!

UPDATED: January 12, 2019

C A L I F O R N I A

Napa Valley

Buehler Vineyards (www.buehlervineyards.com) – Appointment required
Sutter Home (www.sutterhome.com)
Vincent Arroyo Winery (www.vincentarroyo.com)

*Napa Valley Tasting Passport – At  $99 for the year this is a pretty solid value.  Includes tastings at a well-thought-out list of 35 wineries.  Perfect for a first-time Napa visitor


Sonoma County

A. Rafanelli Winery (www.arafanelliwinery.com) – Appointment required
Adastra Wines (www.adastrawines.com)
Alexander Valley Vineyards (www.avvwine.com)
BobDog Vineyards (www.bobdogwine.com)
Francis Ford Coppola (www.franciscoppolawinery.com) – 2 wines
Fritz Underground Winery (www.fritzwinery.com) – Free with coupon
Highway 12 Winery (www.highway12winery.com)
Korbel Champaign Cellars (www.korbel.com)
Locals Tasting Room (www.tastelocalwines.com)
Merry Edwards Winery (www.merryedwards.com) – Appointment recommended
Sonoma Valley Port Works (www.portworks.com)
Sunce Winery (www.suncewinery.com)
Williamson Wines (www.williamsonwines.com)

*2-for-1 Tastings for VISA Signature/Infinite Card Holders – This is hands-down the best deal going in Sonoma and I’ve used it many times.  Be sure to mention you’re a Signature holder before they start pouring wine as a few wineries stray a bit from the published offer.


Paso Robles/San Luis Obispo

Caparone Winery (www.caparone.com)
Cinquain Cellars (www.cinquaincellars.com) – Appointment required
Ecluse (www.eclusewines.com)
Eberle Winery (www.eberlewinery.com)
Glunz Family Winery (www.glunzfamilywinery.com) – Free with coupon
Tobin James Cellars (www.tobinjames.com)

*PasoWineries.net Wine Tasting Coupons – I’m a big fan of several of the wineries on this list.  Perfect for the first-time visitor to Paso.


Lodi

A full list of Lodi’s always reasonable tasting fees is available from the Lodi Wine Commission

Omega Cellars (www.omegavineyardsandwinery.com)
Peirano Esates (www.peirano.com)
Stonum Vineyards (www.stonumvineyards.com)


O R E G O N

Willamette Valley

Aurora Colony Vineyards (www.auroracolonyvineyards.com)
Saginaw Vineyards (www.saginawvineyard.com)
Silvan Ridge Winery (www.silvanridge.com) – 2 wines

*Oregon Wine Pass – At $60 for the year, this is a steal since each passport is good for -2- people.  This one’s for the adventurer; even though there are 80-ish participating wineries, most are smaller labels that you may or may not be familiar with.


W A S H I N G T O N

(List in progress)

Chateau St. Michelle (www.ste-michelle.com)
Columbia Crest (www.columbiacrest.com)
Lake Chelan Winery (www.lakechelanwinery.com)
Treveri Cellars (www.trevericellars.com)

Many other regions are currently in the works and will be included in future updates.

Advertisements
  1. #1 by Ron Lavette on September 11, 2014 - 4:21 pm

    Loxton isn’t free anymore. they said they now charge $5 per person, no sharing. refundable with purchase.

    • #2 by John on September 12, 2014 - 9:42 am

      Thanks for the update! It’s especially unfortunate that they’ve chosen not to allow sharing.

  2. #3 by Deb Merghart on July 3, 2016 - 12:21 am

    we recently went to Paso Robles and visited 3 wineries…none of them free. Although in your Dec 2014 list you show Castoro as being free, they, in fact do charge $5 for a flight of 7. Also, in the research I am currently doing on line, I see that, contrary to your posting, J Lohr and LeVigne both list a fee on their web sites at $5 and $10 respectively.

    • #4 by John on July 3, 2016 - 10:16 pm

      Hi Deb – thanks for the feedback! Bummer you got charged at Castoro – they have historically offered 3 for free, but it was not well known. J Lohr is still free for their standard tasting at both the Paso and San Jose locations – verified today. Too bad about LeVigne, I’ll update that one.

  1. 2019 Free Tasting Room Update | Dirt Cheap Wine Country
  2. Willamette Valley on a Budget | Dirt Cheap Wine Country
  3. The Best Ways to find Free Tastings | Dirt Cheap Wine Country

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: